Who We Are

The Respiratory Compromise Institute was formally constituted in the Commonwealth of Virginia in 2015 and we have obtained our 501(c)(3) tax status as a nonprofit organization.

The Institute was formalized by the National Association for Medical Direction of Respiratory Care (NAMDRC) as a follow-up to a two day multi society conference that focused on a definition of respiratory compromise, approaches to education of the medical community and the general public, and research opportunities that would assist the broad medical community to address respiratory compromise in varied settings, including the hospital, nursing homes, and the home. NAMDRC works closely with the Physician Patient Alliance for Health & Safety on many communications aspects of the Institute.

The Clinical Advisory Committee is an important component of the Institute and includes representatives appointed by key medical societies. While each society retains total discretion to adopt and support varied activities of the Institute, the scope of society support clearly signals the importance of this issue.

Clinical Advisory Committee Roster

Tim Myers, RRT
American Association for Respiratory Care

Todd Slesinger, MD
American College of Emergency Physicians

Allen Gustin, MD
American Society of Anesthesiologists

Patricia Finn, MD
American Thoracic Society

Thomas Fuhrman, MD
CHEST/American College of Chest Physicians

Tim Morris, MD
National Association for Medical Direction of Respiratory Care

Michael Wong, JD
Physician Patient Alliance for Health & Safety

Jeff Vender, MD
Society of Critical Care Medicine

Thomas Frederickson, MD
Society of Hospital Medicine